Members for ad hoc free speech committee announced

On Jan. 30, President Maud Mandel released the list of members on the committee formed in the wake of last semester’s campus conversation around free expression, hateful speech and the Chicago Principles. 

Mandel created the Ad Hoc Committee on Inquiry and Inclusion with the charge of recommending, by this May, a set of guidelines for future speaker invitations.

Tarana Burke delivers Claiming Williams keynote

#MeToo movement founder speaks on issues of sexual violence, race

Tarana Burke, founder of the #MeToo movement, spoke to the student body in the evening keynote for Claiming Williams Day on Thursday in Chapin Hall. Burke was interviewed by Associate Professor of Africana Studies and Faculty Affiliate in Religion Rhon Manigault-Bryant.

Dean’s office announces compensation of JAAB

Senior members of the Junior Advisor Advisory Board (JAAB) will receive financial compensation beginning next year, Junior Advisor (JA) Co-Presidents Kimberly Andreassen ’20 and Sydney Myong ’20 announced in an email to current JAs. 

Though the exact amount has yet to be finalized, senior JAAB members will be paid between $1000 and $1500, while other board members are expected to remain unpaid. Current senior members, however, will not be compensated for their membership this year.

Dispensaries open in Berkshire County

The first marijuana dispensary in Berkshire County opened its doors to the public on Jan. 11, more than two years after Massachusetts’ legalization of recreational marijuana.