Track, field run away as Little 3 Champs

At this year’s Little Three Championship Meet, held Saturday at Wesleyan, the men’s and women’s track and field teams both topped Wesleyan and Amherst. The men’s team finished with 166, followed by Wesleyan with 125 and Amherst with 98. The Ephwomen rounded up 170 points, with Wesleyan trailing at 132, and Amherst at 93.

In the men’s 3,000 meter steeplechase, it was personal bests all around for Williams. Matt Winkler ’04 won his debut steeple in an outstanding 9:18.29, followed in second by Neal Hannon ’03 in 9:45.67.

The race was Hannon’s first steeple since high school. Ross Smith ’05 also ran a personal best, finishing fourth in 10:11.84. Sean O’Brien ’05 was seventh, crossing the line 10:49.18, which was good enough to qualify him for the NESCAC steeplechase next weekend.

Chris Garvin ’03 won the 1500 meter run by summoning his fatal kick on the last lap to hit the tape in 3:59.31. Neal Holtschulte ’06 followed closely in third with a personal best 4:01.37. Mitchell Baker ’04 was eighth in 4:08.09.

Garvin was also third in the 800 meter run with a 1:58.97, about a second behind race-winner Andrew Schneider of Amherst. Jeff Delaney ’05 had an outstanding performance in the 800 meters, placing sixth in 2:00.98 and meeting the NESCAC standard. Geoff O’Donoghue ’06 was eighth in 2:05.78.

The Ephmen won every relay in which they participated, winning the 4×100 meter relay in 43.70 and the 4×400 meter relay in 3:23.28. Williams took the fourth, fifth, and sixth place spots in the 400 meter hurdles. Sean Clifford ’04 clocked in at 60.40, followed by Brian Lowe ’06 at 61.45 and Jamie Kingsberry ’06 at 62.36.

John Symanski ’06 once again showed his prowess in the sprints, winning the 100 meter dash in 11.17 and the 200 meter dash in 22.67s. He was also the anchor in the 4×100 meter relay.

Drew Raab ’06 was third in the 100 meter dash, cruising to 11.35. Fox Boon ’05 was eighth in 11.85. Michael Sheehan ’03 was third in the 200 meters with 23 seconds flat, followed closely by Chuck Jakobsche ’04 in fourth with 23.04 and Tommy Hall ’06 in seventh with 23.70.

In the 400 meter dash, Jakobsche and Sheehan were again neck and neck, this time Jakobsche coming out in first with a 49.98 and Sheehan in second with a 50.01. Hall was fourth in 56.65.

Sam VanVolkenburgh ’05 made a statement in the 5,000 meter run, taking a commanding lead with one and a half miles remaining. He held that lead until the last 100 meters where he was passed by Matthew Katz of Amherst.

VanVolkenburgh crossed in a solid 15:38.86. Andy Golden ’03 was fourth in 15:47.89, a strong performance after spending the beginning of the season battling injury. Adrian Martinez ’06 was eighth in 16:14.53.

On the field, Williams took the top two spots in nearly every event. In the discus throw, Caleb Bliss ’05 tossed 44.10 meters for first and senior captain Trey Wright ’03 threw 40.60 meters for second. Wright won the shot put with a throw of 15.82 meters, and Bliss was second with 14.67 meters.

JJ O’Brien ’05 threw a 43.80 meters bomb in the hammer throw for first, followed by Bliss in second with 41.10 meters, and Aaron Wilson ’04 in third with 34.10 meters. Clifford was fourth in the javelin, throwing 40.76 meters.

Markus Burns ’06 won the high jump with an outstanding jump of 6’3.50″. Dean Carvalho ’04 won the pole vault, clearing 4.25m. Jeff Ossinger ’05 was second, clearing 3.95m.

Ossinger won the long jump with a leap of 6.43m, followed by Burns in second with 6.13m and Kyle McDermott ’05 in fourth with 5.92m. Burns was also third in the triple jump, at 12.71m.

For the women, Suzie Theroux ’05 was third in the 3,000m run with 10:47.67. She was followed by Emily Fertig ’06 in 10:54.10.

Danner Hickman ’05 was fourth in the women’s 1500 meter run finishing in 4:50.97. Elissa Rehm ’06 was sixth in 4:52.55 and Gillian Sowden ’06 was ninth in 5:22.60.

It was Williams all the way in the women’s 800 meter run, as Kali Moody ’05, Colleen Doody ’03 and Jenn Campbell ’05 broke away from the pack and traded places throughout the race. In the end the race went to Campbell with a 2:13.54. Moody was second in 2:14.81, followed by Doody in 2:16.36.

Doody was also second in the 100 meter dash, crossing the line in 12.73. Margaret Ross ’05 was eighth in both the 100 meters (14.44) and the 200 meters (30.40). Claire Samuel ’04 had an outstanding day, finishing fifth in the 100 meter dash (13.390), third in the 200 meter dash (26.86) and first in the 400 meter dash (60.13). Rachel Horwitz ’03 was fifth in the 200 meters with 28.43 and sixth in the 100 meter high hurdles with 17.83. Enyi-Abal Koene ’05 clocked in at 61.91 in the 400 meter dash, which was good for second.

In the 100 meter high hurdles, Kristen Moss ’06 crossed the line in second with 16.11s, followed by Julie O’Donnell ’05 in 16.81 and Joyia Chadwick in 17.06. The 400 meter hurdles was won by Afton Johnson ’05 in 65.71. Kate Dineen ’05 was fourth with 68.67 and Carolyn Robbs was fifth with 68.75.

As usual, the Ephwomen were tops on the field. In the women’s discus, Anne Swisher ’05 won, throwing 38.50m. Senior captain Healy Thompson ’03 was second with 37.10m, followed by Katie Krause ’06 in fourth with 33.30m and Amy Geant ’03 with 33.10m.

The top four spots in the shot put went to Williams. Thompson took first with 14.33m, followed by Robin Young ’05 (12.13m), Swisher (12.01m), and Krause (11.40m). The Ephs also took the top three spots in the hammer throw. Thompson ended up in first with a heave of 46.50m, followed by Geant (45.40m), and Swisher (45.10m). Torrey Baldwin ’04 was fifth with 42.50m. Young won the javelin throw, hitting the 34.90m mark. Crissy Campbell ’04 was third at 37.73m.

Williams took the top three spots in the triple jump. First place went to Moss, who jumped 10.90m. In second was Audrey Lumley-Sapanski ’04 with a 10.82m leap, and in third it was O’Donnell at 10.65m. It was a similar story in the pole vault and high jump.

Meredith Jones ’04 cleared 3.55m in the pole vault to secure first place. Horwitz was second, clearing 3.05m, and Sarah Iams was third at 2.90m. Moss won the high jump, clearing 1.57m, followed by Ronnie Weinstein ’04 in third, with a 1.47m clean. Melissa Daly ’03 was second in the long jump at 4.79m.

The last event of the day put the topping on the cake for the Ephwomen, as they put two 4x400m relay teams ahead of Amherst’s first team. The Williams “A” team clocked in at 4:05.82 and the “B” team was close behind in 4:08.67.

There was little doubt about how the Ephs would perform at Little Threes this year, and true to form, the Williams track and field teams had a slew of stellar performances on the track, on the field, and in the pits, putting Amherst and Wesleyan in their places. There is more to come next weekend as Williams hosts the NESCAC Championships at home.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *