Ephmen take 10th consecutive title with fine showing

The Williams College men’s track and field team dominated the Little Three Championship meet on Saturday, taking first-place in 14 of 19 events en route to a score of 195. Amherst placed second with 105, while Wesleyan scored 98 for third.

Windy conditions played havoc with many of the athletes, but some strong marks were posted nonetheless. The weight men started off the day for the Ephs in style, taking first in all of their events.

All-American David Stuhlsatz ’99 placed first in the shot put with a throw of 15.08 meters, and in the discus with a 44.32 meter toss. He also took second in the hammer throw (40.96) behind fellow Eph Matt Campanelli ’00 (46.80). Also having an outstanding throwing day was Tri-Captain Derek Sasaki-Scanlon ’98, who placed first in the javelin (50.87 meters) and second in the discus (38.50). Bob Blackstone ’00 chipped in a third place performance in the shot put.

The sprinters were responsible for Williams’ first victory of the day on the track, breezing to a decisive triumph in the 100-meter relay. The team of Sam Young ’98, Chido Alozie ’01, Jon Pearson ’00 and Ed Rossier ’01 ran a solid time of 43.41 seconds, beating Amherst by over a second.

The sprinting dominance continued in the 100-meter dash, which saw Alozie (11.39 seconds), Pearson (11.46) and Young (11.56) finish first through third. In the 200, Pearson was the top Eph finishing third in 22.79 seconds, just ahead of Young who took fourth (22.89). Jake Israelow ’01 continued his hurdling success, winning both the 110-meter and 400-meter hurdle races with times of 15.47 and 56.20 respectively, both personal bests. Rossier was second in the 110’s (15.74) and third in the 400’s (56.83), and Mike Hickey ’99 took fourth in the 400’s (57.33).

In the open 400-meter dash, Cliff Covington ’01 was the top Eph, finishing fourth in an impressive 51.58. Aaron Decamp ’99 was fifth (51.69), while Chad D’Entremont took sixth (52.15). In the final sprint event of the day, the 400-meter relay team of Alozie, Hickey, Decamp, and Rossier sped to victory with a time of 3:28:28 after the Lord Jeffs were disqualified due to an illegal lane change.

In the field event 100-meter relay, the Williams team of Yang Wang ’01, Alex Wong ’99, Tom Douglas ’01 and Carter Wilkinson ’99 took fourth overall, beating the Amherst B team by four seconds.

The gusty winds probably had the biggest effect on the times in the distance races, but the Ephmen ran well against the powerful Jeff distance squad. In the 800, Tim Campell ’01 ran well for third in 2:00.21, right behind Amherst’s All-American Rob Mitchell. Dan Williamson ’01 and Jay Slowik ’01 placed fifth and sixth respectively.

In the 1500, the Ephmen loaded up the field to combat Mitchell and his mates. Paul Alsdorf ’99 and Campbell ran brilliantly to place second and third respectively with times of 4:01.7 and 4:03.2. Alsdorf led Mitchell until the final 80 meters before placing second by only three-tenths of a second. Tri-Captain Jeff Edmonds ’99 and Yuneng Li ‘99 finished fifth and sixth respectively.

The Ephs took first through third in the 5000, led by Dan McCue ’99 (15:41.18). Geoff Hutchison ’99 was second (15:57.4) while Dusty Lopez ’01 was third (16:00.04). Brendan Burns ’98 collected his usual victory in the 3000 Steeplechase (9:51.9), while Teddy Wasserman ’01 was third.

The Ephs also dominated the jumps. Alozie decided to try his hand at the long jump and triumphed with a leap of 20’7 1/2″. Jason Mirach was second in both the long and triple jumps, while Patrick Adair ’00 took a strong third in the latter. In the high jump, Jason Wilson ’99 and Duane Lee ’01 tied for first with leaps of 1.75 meters. Finally, Tom Douglas ’01 won the pole vault ahead of Derek Sasaki-Scanlon, who placed second despite vaulting wrong-handed.

With their latest Little Three Championship under their belts, the team will prepare this week for a trip to Hamilton College for the NESCAC championships next Saturday and Sunday.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *